Memphis International Airport Notes

October 2007

Jim D. Ethridge Elected 2008 Chairman of the Airports Council International-North America Commissioners' Committee

Airport Authority Board Member, Jim D. Ethridge, was elected the 2008 Chairman of the Airports Council International-North America Commissioners' Committee. He was elected at the organization's annual meeting in Kansas City last week and will take office in January.

The Commissioners' Committee of ACI-NA is comprised of representatives from more than 400 airport board members, commissioners, and trustees who serve on aviation boards that set policy for, and oversee the management of their airports.

The Committee's primary mission is to promote the discussion and formation of legislative policy positions in the support of aviation. It also works to provide training and educational opportunities for its members.

ACI-NA is the North American branch of Airports Council International, headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, an organization that unites the airports of the world into a single organization dedicated to responding to the needs and concerns of airport operators everywhere. The North American branch is the largest of ACI's six divisions.

A Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority Board Member since 2002, Ethridge chairs the airport's long-term planning and development committee and its general aviation committee. Ethridge, a real estate developer, is also a commercial and instrument fixed wing and helicopter pilot. He is also former Chairman of the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.

He is the second MSCAA Board Member to Chair ACI-NA Commissioners' Committee. Authority Chairman Arnold Perl served as the group's Chairman in 2004.

Jim D. Ethridge

Jim D. Ethridge
Memphis International Airport · 2491 Winchester Road, Suite 113 · Memphis, TN 38116-3856
©2007 Memphis International Airport